WhatsApp is testing a new feature to ward off hackers and make WhatsApp accounts more secure. With its beta version 22.214.171.124, the Meta-owned company is working towards protecting its users from unauthorized access. With the upcoming update, WhatsApp users will soon have access to the new feature known as Login Approval.
Here is a quick look at the feature and how it works.
What is WhatsApp Login Approval
Once released, Login Approval will alert users whenever an unauthorized device tries to log into their accounts. When using the web version of the app, users can simply scan the QR code to log in to their accounts, which is a mandatory step; however, hackers can bypass this security measure to gain access to accounts.
📝 WhatsApp beta for Android 126.96.36.199: what's new?
WhatsApp is working on a new security feature called login approval, available in a future update of the app!https://t.co/6GyfUGyIy6
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) August 5, 2022
With WhatsApp Login Approval, users have the power to accept or deny the login request, which will help ward off unauthorized access to users’ accounts. Thus, creating additional security for protecting your user’s accounts.
The feature will notify the account’s original owner, showing the time, date, and device used for the login attempt, and users will have the authority to decline the login request.
“See Past Participants” and more features
The new features will be made available after the initial beta testing. Along with Login Approval, WhatsApp will include other features in the next update According to WABetaInfo, the next known feature will be the “See Past Participants.
According to the report, the See Past Participants feature will allow group admins to see who left a group or was removed from it in the last 60 days. Only the group admins will have access to this data, which will be displayed on the “Group Information” page under the list of active members.
Additionally, this feature will replace the previous notification feature when a user leaves or gets removed from the group. See Past Participants will only notify admins about who is leaving the group or getting removed, not all the participants.